India vs South Africa: BCCI announces team for ODI series, KL Rahul gets captaincy

India vs South Africa ODI Series: The Board of Control for Cricket in India has announced the Indian team for the three-match ODI series against South Africa. Rohit Sharma is not fit, that is why KL Rahul has been given the captaincy. On the other hand, fast bowler Jasprit Bumrah has been made the vice-captain.

Shikhar Dhawan, Washington Sundar and Deepak Chahar have returned to the Indian team for the ODI series against South Africa. Also, Ruturaj Gaikwad and Venkatesh Iyer, who performed well in IPL 2021 and domestic cricket, have been included in the team.

Kohli will play as a batsman

Virat Kohli has also been included in the 18-man squad for the ODI series against South Africa. For the first time he will play as a batsman. Even before the ongoing Test series against South Africa, Rohit Sharma was handed over the captaincy of the ODI team from Virat Kohli. However, he will not be able to take part in this series due to injury. In such a situation, KL Rahul has been appointed as the captain in his place.

Six fast bowlers got a chance

BCCI has included six fast bowlers in the 18-member team. It includes Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Famous Krishna, Shardul Thakur and Mohammad Siraj. In the spin department, Yuzvendra Chahal, R Ashwin and Washington Sundar have got a chance. Apart from this, Venkatesh Iyer has also been selected in the Indian ODI team for the first time.

These players did not get the place

Captain Rohit Sharma, all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja and Hardik Pandya are not in this team due to injury. At the same time, fast bowler Mohammed Shami, who performed amazingly in the Test series, has not been included in the team. At the same time, Kuldeep Yadav, who performed brilliantly on India’s last tour of South Africa, also failed to make a comeback in the team.

Indian team for ODI series- KL Rahul (Captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Venkatesh Iyer, Rishabh Pant (WK), Ishan Kishan (WK), Yuzvendra Chahal, R Ashwin, Washington Sundar, Jasprit Bumrah (VC) , Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Famous Krishna, Shardul Thakur and Mohammad Siraj.


Show More

Shivam Bangwal

Shivam Bangwal is a young entrepreneur who is professional full time tech, travel and coding enthusiast with a post graduation degree of Master's of Computer Applications. He is a founder of Youthistaan, People News Chronicle, Branding Panther and Digital Leader.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button