Court refuses to grant bail to Nawab Malik, Anil Deshmukh for voting in Rajya Sabha elections

Mumbai | No Bail For Nawab : Nawab Malik and Anil Deshmukh, who have been in the news continuously for some time, have once again got a setback from the court. A special court in Mumbai on Thursday dismissed the applications filed by Maharashtra minister Nawab Malik and former minister Anil Deshmukh, both seeking bail for one day for voting in the Rajya Sabha elections to be held on Friday. Deshmukh and Malik, both senior NCP leaders, are currently in jail in connection with various money laundering cases being probed by the Enforcement Directorate (ED). The two had filed an application for temporary bail before Special Judge RN Rokade last week.

Refusal to grant temporary bail

No Bail For Nawab : After hearing the arguments of all the parties in this case, the court on Thursday refused to grant temporary bail to Malik and Deshmukh. The ED had opposed their petitions, saying that prisoners do not have the right to vote under the Representation of the People Act. Deshmukh was arrested by the ED in a money laundering case in November 2021. Malik was arrested by the ED on February 23 this year in connection with the probe into a money laundering case involving the activities of fugitive gangster Dawood Ibrahim and his associates.

Also read- Right Or Wrong: Villagers burnt alive 2 accused of rape, one died on the spot…

7 candidates in fray for 6 seats

No Bail For Nawab : Every vote is crucial for the Shiv Sena-led Maha Vikas Aghadi (MVA) to elect Sanjay Pawar, the Shiv Sena’s second candidate in the six Rajya Sabha seats from Maharashtra. The NCP is a constituent of the MVA. After more than two decades, Rajya Sabha elections will be held in the state as seven candidates are in the fray for six seats. The ruling Shiv Sena has fielded two candidates, while its allies NCP and Congress have fielded one candidate each. At the same time, the opposition BJP has fielded three candidates. The contest for the sixth seat is between BJP’s Dhananjay Mahadik and Shiv Sena’s Sanjay Pawar.

Also read- Shilpa Shetty was dressed as transparent when the light of the camera fell on her, Oops…

Back to top button