Mumbai Indians would like to return to the track of victory, Kolkata’s eyes will be on repeating the past performance

Mumbai Indians vs Kolkata Knight Riders: In IPL 2021, the teams of defending champions Mumbai Indians and Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) will face each other today. Mumbai had to face defeat against Chennai Super Kings in their last match. On the other hand, Kolkata defeated Royal Challengers Bangalore in their last match.

In such a situation, where Mumbai would like to forget the previous defeat and return to the track of victory. On the other hand, KKR, who registered a bang against RCB, will have their eyes on repeating their performance.

Fourth-placed Mumbai with eight points in the points table started the second leg in their familiar fashion, but now half the tournament is done and the defending champions need a win to stay in the top four.

According to Mumbai head coach Mahela Jayawardene, regular captain Rohit Sharma will be available for selection in the match against KKR. Rohit has been in great form for some time now and is expected to maintain it to help the batsmen rectify the mistakes committed against Chennai.

Chasing a target of 156 against Chennai, none of the Mumbai batsmen could perform well except Saurabh Tiwary. On the other hand, a spectacular win in the first match would have boosted KKR’s morale. KKR’s team, which struggled in the first phase, was seen completely changed in this match against RCB.

Eoin Morgan-led KKR are at the sixth position in the points table. He bowled brilliantly against RCB under mysterious spinner Varun Chakraborty and all-rounder Andre Russell and then easily chased down the target with 10 overs remaining from the innings of Shubman Gill and Venkatesh Iyer.

MI vs KKR Head to Head

So far in the history of IPL, the teams of Mumbai and Kolkata have come face to face a total of 28 times. During this, Mumbai’s upper hand has been very heavy. Mumbai’s team has won 22 matches against Kolkata. At the same time, Kolkata has won only six matches.

Both the teams are as follows-

Kolkata Knight Riders: Eoin Morgan (Captain), Dinesh Karthik, Gurkeerat Singh Mann, Karun Nair, Nitish Rana, Rahul Tripathi, Shubman Gill, Harbhajan Singh, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Kuldeep Yadav, Lockie Ferguson, Pawan Negi, M Pranand Krishna, Sandeep Warrier, Shivam Dubey, Tim Southee, Vaibhav Arora, Varun Chakravarthy, Andre Russell, Ben Cutting, Shakib Al Hasan, Sunil Narine, Venkatesh Iyer, Sheldon Jackson and Tim Seifert.

Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma (captain), Quinton de Kock, Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav, Aditya Tare, Anmolpreet Singh, Chris Lynn, Saurabh Tiwary, Anukul Roy, Arjun Tendulkar, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, James Neesham, Jayant Yadav, Kieran Pollard, Marco Janssen, Yudhveer Singh, Adam Milne, Dhawal Kulkarni, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohsin Khan, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Piyush Chawla, Rahul Chahar and Trent Boult.


Show More

Shivam Bangwal

Shivam Bangwal is a young entrepreneur who hails from Uttarakhand. Shivam is a professional full time Digital Marketing and PR expert with a post graduation degree of Master's of Computer Applications. He is a founder of Youthistaan, People News Chronicle, Branding Panther and Digital Leader.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button