Who will be the Congress President in UP

The Congress party has not appointed a new president in Uttar Pradesh. After losing the assembly elections held in five states in February-March this year, the Congress has changed the state presidents in the remaining four states. In Punjab, Uttarakhand, Manipur and Goa, new people have been given the responsibility but in Uttar Pradesh the state president has not been changed. Ajay Singh Lallu is still the president. However, he has also sent his resignation to the Congress President. Congress General Secretary Priyanka Gandhi visited Uttar Pradesh last week for the first time after the elections. As a follow-up to the Nav Sankalp Shivir in Udaipur, a meeting was held in Uttar Pradesh in connection with the meetings being held in the states, in which Priyanka attended. However, there was no talk about the state president in this.

Now the question is, when will the party appoint a new president in place of Ajay Singh Lallu? The bigger question is whether the Congress will make a Brahmin or a Muslim president? Keep in mind that the Congress party has made two Brahmin leaders of the state – Rajeev Shukla and Pramod Tiwari as Rajya Sabha candidates from two different states. Apart from these, Imran Pratapgarhi of Uttar Pradesh was made a Rajya Sabha candidate from Maharashtra as a Muslim face. From this it seems that the party is doing politics of Brahmins and Muslims. The Muslim vote of the Congress is needed to stand against the SP. Due to the weakening of BSP, both BJP and Congress are also eyeing the Dalit vote. Congress can also put forward a Dalit face like PL Punia. Overall the Congress is disillusioned with OBC politics and a Dalit, Brahmin or Muslim may be made the president.

Back to top button