UP elections: Akhilesh made a dent in BJP trying to woo Brahmins, SP’s MYB formula will increase Yogi’s trouble

In UP, once there used to be a war for Muslim, Yadav, Dalit vote bank, but in the assembly elections 2022, there is a ruckus for Brahmin votes. Be it SP or BJP, their leaders are seen shouting slogans of ‘Lord Parshuram ki Jai’.

Bilsi assembly seat of Badaun, MLA’s name – Pandit Radhakrishna Sharma. Assembly seat- Prayagraj, MLA’s name- Shashank Tripathi. These two MLAs have three things in common. First- both of them were BJP leaders and second- both of them joined Samajwadi Party on January 10, 2022 and third thing which is most important is that both these MLAs are Brahmins. Bilsi MLA Pandit Radhakrishna Sharma had last appeared on the stage on January 9 in the rally of CM Yogi Adityanath in Sahaswan. Since then he was not seen and when he appeared the name of the party was changed to SP.

The story of Shashank Tripathi, BJP MLA from Prayagraj, is no less interesting. In 2012, he fought from the northern seat of Prayagraj on a SP ticket, but faced defeat, in 2017 he entered the field with a lotus symbol and won, but he may not have liked the BJP, then Shashank Tripathi for the second time. To the side

In UP, once there used to be a war for Muslim, Yadav, Dalit vote bank, but in the assembly elections 2022, there is a ruckus for Brahmin votes. Be it SP or BJP, their leaders are seen shouting slogans of ‘Lord Parshuram ki Jai’. Who among them can woo the Brahmins, they will be able to tell the results of the elections, but at least in the case of jugaad-jugaad, SP President Akhilesh Yadav seems to be overshadowing CM Yogi Adityanath. On January 10, 2022, Akhilesh Yadav, giving a double blow to the BJP, took away two of its Brahmin MLAs.

Akhilesh has made entry of many more Brahmin leaders in SP

In December 2021, Akhilesh Yadav had made Harishankar Tiwari, who was expelled from the BSP, join the SP. Along with Harishankar Tiwari, his two sons – Bhimshankar Tiwari and Vinay Shankar Tiwari also joined the SP. Bhimshankar Tiwari has been a Lok Sabha MP from Sant Kabir Nagar, while Vinay Shankar Tiwari is an MLA from Chillupar in Gorakhpur. In this way SP got triple dose of Brahmin votes. Digvijay Narayan Choubey, MLA from Khalilabad in Sant Kabir Nagar, has also joined the SP by saying bye to BJP.

Akhilesh Yadav is trying to make MYB combination

This Brahmin love of Samajwadi Party, which has been in the politics of UP for years on the basis of Yadav-Muslim (MY) factor, tells that Akhilesh Yadav has inherited the Yadav-Muslim vote bank from his father Mulayam Singh Yadav to B i.e. Brahmin vote bank. also want to add. Means Akhilesh Yadav is doing engineering to make MYB vote combination for the 2022 UP assembly elections. The results of the 2017 assembly elections are also a big reason behind this:

2017 assembly election results

According to data from the Center for the Studies of Developing Societies (CSDS), the SP’s core voter – Yadav, shifted to the BJP in the last assembly elections. In 2017, 61 percent of Yadavs and 31 percent of Jatavs voted, leading the BJP to a thumping majority. Also, BJP got 80 percent Brahmin votes as a bonus, which was only 42 percent in 2012. This was the reason that even when SP-BSP came together in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, BJP did not make much difference, because the core vote of SP-BSP was already in its court. Now when the core voter of SP-BSP has slipped, it is obvious that he will have to increase the scope of his vote bank, so Akhilesh Yadav is now trying bet on Muslim, Yadav and Brahmin combination. The results of the 2012 election are also prompting Akhilesh to do the same. In that election, out of the total 29 percent votes that SP got, 9 percent were given by Brahmins, but in 2017 Brahmin votes along with Yadavs also shifted and SP got worse.

Mayawati also had to bring Brahmins along, only then came to power after winning in 2007.

BSP supremo Mayawati, who once gave the slogan of ’tilak, scales and swords, inke maro shoes chaar’, when she came to power in UP for the first time in 2007 with absolute majority, she too had to join Brahmins along with her core-Dalit voter. had to bring After this experiment of Mayawati, political pundits praised the social engineering of BSP, because it was not such an easy task for a party with Dalit core voters to bring Brahmins together, but Mayawati did it. BSP is also striving for social engineering of Brahmins in 2022 and is organizing Brahmin conventions fiercely.

How is the magic of Brahmins in UP

In UP, Brahmins constitute 10 to 12 percent of the population. Talking about the 2017 elections, 58 Brahmin MLAs out of 312 of the BJP came out winning. Of the 56 ministers of CM Yogi, only 9 are Brahmins. Till the time Congress was in power in UP, Brahmins took over the chair of Chief Minister. Once upon a time, the Congress used to have a big hold on the Brahmins of UP. After independence, till the year 1989, 6 Brahmins became the Chief Minister of UP. Govind Vallabh Pant, Sucheta Kripalani, Kamalapati Tripathi, Hemvati Nandan Bahuguna, Shripati Mishra and Narayan Dutt Tiwari. Narayan Tiwari was the CM of UP thrice. Since Tiwari, no leader, be it a Brahmin or a non-Brahmin, could sit on the CM of UP for two consecutive terms.

Show More

Shivam Bangwal

Shivam Bangwal is a young entrepreneur who is professional full time tech, travel and coding enthusiast with a post graduation degree of Master's of Computer Applications. He is a founder of Youthistaan, People News Chronicle, Branding Panther and Digital Leader.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Check Also
Back to top button