The court put a stay on the work of the commission set up to investigate the Jhiram incident

Bilaspur. The Chhattisgarh High Court today issued further orders on the functioning of the two-member inquiry commission set up by the Bhupesh government to investigate the country’s biggest Naxal attack in Jhiram Ghati of Bastar on May 25. Banned till
A two-member bench headed by Chief Justice Arup Kumar Goswami gave this order while admitting the petition of Leader of Opposition in the Assembly Dharamlal Kaushik for hearing. The Supreme Court on behalf of Mr. Kaushik. Apart from senior advocate Mahesh Jethmalani, Vivek Sharma and Abhishek Gupta raised questions on the legality of the new inquiry commission and said that the single-member inquiry commission of High Court sitting judge Justice Prashant Mishra, constituted after the incident, was handed over to the governor. It is wrong to constitute a new commission without placing the report on the table of the assembly.
In fact, after the Bhupesh government submitted the report of Justice Prashant Mishra’s single-member commission of inquiry to the Governor after nearly eight years, the state government included some more new points in the investigation, including two of the retired Justice Satishchandra Agnihotri and Justice Minhajuddin. A one-member inquiry commission was formed. The government did not even place the report of the Justice Prashant Mishra inquiry commission on the table of the assembly.

Back to top button