South Africa’s star bowler Dale Steyn announces retirement from cricket


Dale Steyn Retirement: South Africa’s star fast bowler Dale Steyn announced his retirement from all forms of cricket on Tuesday. He gave information about this by tweeting. Dale Steyn is one of those bowlers who have made unique records by leading the South African team to victory in many important matches. He has played 93 Tests, 125 ODIs and 47 T20Is for South Africa. He has taken 439 wickets in Tests.

Tweeted sentimental message

Dale Steyn retired from Test cricket in the year 2019 and since then he has been playing limited overs matches. He played the last T20 match of his career against Australia in February 2020. Dale Steyn was battling injury for the last few years. Especially in November 2016, he suffered a shoulder injury during South Africa’s tour of Australia. Since then he has been a victim of constant injury. Steyn took to social media to announce his retirement, saying: “Today I am officially retiring from the sport I love the most. Bitter but grateful.”

Steyn wrote, “Today I formally retire from the sport I love the most. Thanks to everyone, from family to teammates, journalists to fans, it’s been a wonderful journey together.” Stan expressed his feelings in his letter announcing his retirement, referring to a song by American rock band ‘Counting Crow’. The fast bowler wrote, “It has been 20 years of training, matches, travels, wins, losses, achievements, fatigue, happiness and brotherhood. There are many memorable moments to tell. Many people have to thank. So I leave it to the experts, my favorite band, Counting Crow.

Steyn has many ICC awards to his name

Dale Steyn is one of those bowlers in world cricket who can consistently throw the ball at a speed of 150 kmph. Steyn, 38, was one of the most dangerous fast bowlers in his career spanning 20 years. He is known for his fast pace and excellent swing. He was awarded the ICC Player of the Year Award (Test) in 2008. Apart from this, he has many awards to his name. In the year 2013, he received the Wisden Leading Cricketer Award, in the year 2011 and 2014 he received the ICC ODI Team of the Year Award. Apart from this, Wisden Cricketer of the Year Award in 201 is also registered in his name.

Also read: IPL New Franchise: BCCI has fixed the base price for two new teams in IPL 2022, the board expects to raise 5000 crores from the auction



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button