Rohit Sharma became captain in all three formats

Mumbai. The transition phase in Indian cricket for the last few months is over. Rohit Sharma has been made the captain of all three formats of cricket i.e. Test, ODI and T20. The period of uncertainty that has been going on for the last few months has come to an end with the announcement of his appointment as the captain for the Test series against Sri Lanka. Chetan Sharma, chairman of the selection committee of the Indian cricket team, announced this during a press conference. There was some sort of controversy going on since the time Virat Kohli left the captaincy.

Along with this, Team India has also been announced for the three-match T20 and Test series to be played against Sri Lanka. Virat Kohli and Rishabh Pant have been rested for the T20I series. Cheteshwar Pujara and Ajinkya Rahane, who have been out of form for a long time, have been dropped from the Test team. There was talk of both being dropped from the team already.

Announcing the team, Chetan Sharma said – Both have not been selected for this series, they have been given permission to play domestic cricket. Apart from these two players, fast bowler Ishant Sharma and wicketkeeper Wriddhiman Saha have also been shown the way out of the Test team. Ishant has been troubled by poor form and fitness issues for some time, while Saha has been replaced by young KS Bharat.

Rushabh Kothari

Senior Journalist at Youthistaan.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button