Pakistan beat New Zealand in a thrilling match, achieved second consecutive victory in the World Cup

T20 World Cup 2021: In the ICC T20 World Cup (ICC T20 WC) on Tuesday, Pakistan defeated New Zealand by 5 wickets in a thrilling match. This is Pakistan’s second consecutive win in the World Cup. In the match played at Sharjah Cricket Stadium, New Zealand (NZ) gave a target of 135 runs to Pakistan (PAK). Pakistan’s batsmen performed well and led the team to victory. For Pakistan, Mohammad Rizwan played the highest innings of 33 runs. The performance of Pakistan bowlers was also good in this match. Haris Rauf took 4 wickets, while Imad Wasim and Mohammad Hafeez took one wicket each. Apart from this, Shaheen Shah Afridi also got a wicket.

Such was the performance of Pakistani batsmen

Chasing the target on the slow pitch of Sharjah, the start of the Pakistan team was also not good and captain Babar Azam scored 9 runs with the help of a four and returned to the pavilion after being clean bowled by Tim Southee. In this way, Pakistan scored 30 runs for the loss of one wicket in the power play. Meanwhile, Mohammad Rizwan remained on the crease and kept on increasing Pakistan’s innings. Shortly after this, Fakhar Zaman batted well and hit a tremendous six off Sodhi’s ball, but in the same over, Sodhi made Zaman (11) his victim.

Mohammad Hafeez, who came to bat at number four, was dismissed after a brilliant catch by Conway. Soon Rizwan was also dismissed by Sodhi after scoring 33 runs in 34 balls with the help of five fours. After this, Malik and Ali played till the end and gave a spectacular victory to the team. There was a successful 48-run partnership between the two in this match. For New Zealand, Ish Sodhi took the highest two wickets, while Trent Boult, James Neesham and Mitchell Santner took one wicket each.

Such was the performance of New Zealand’s batsmen

Electing to bat after losing the toss, the New Zealand team started poorly on the slow pitch of Sharjah and the team scored 42 runs for the loss of one wicket in the power play. Rauf soon dismissed Martin Guptill. After this, Daryl Mitchell scored 27 runs in 20 balls with the help of one four and two sixes and was dismissed by Wasim. James Neesham, who came to bat at number four, was soon sent to the pavilion by Hafeez. Due to the tremendous bowling of Pakistan, the run rate of the New Zealand team continued to fall, but captain Kane Williamson and Devon Conway remained on the field and there was a partnership of 34 runs between them. After this Williamson was run out after scoring 25 runs. After this, Conway (27), Glenn Phillips (13) and Tim Seifert (8) scored runs to take the team’s score to 134 runs.

Also read: T20 WC 2021: Big blow to New Zealand team, this star bowler was out of T20 World Cup due to injury

T20 WC: Quinton de Kock can be blamed! may be out of the tournament, soon the South Africa Cricket Board will take a decision


Shivam Bangwal

Shivam Bangwal is an Indian based entrepreneur who is a tech, travel and coding enthusiast with a post graduation degree on Master's of Computer Applications. He is a founder of Youthistaan, People News Chronicle, Hitchhike TV, Branding Panther and many more.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button