MLC ticket to seven UP ministers

New Delhi. The Bharatiya Janata Party has announced the names of candidates for the Legislative Council i.e. MLC for Uttar Pradesh, Bihar and Maharashtra. The party has announced nine candidates in Uttar Pradesh, of which seven are ministers. Apart from this, candidates have also been declared for five seats in Maharashtra and two in Bihar.

Deputy Chief Minister Keshav Prasad Maurya is also included in the list of the largest state of the country, Uttar Pradesh. His term of Legislative Council is coming to an end. Of the nine BJP candidates in the state, seven are ministers, out of which two ministers were expiring and five are not members of any house. The tenure of the Legislative Council of Deputy Chief Minister Keshav Prasad Maurya and Panchayati Raj Minister Chaudhary Bhupendra Singh is ending on July 6.

Apart from these, Cooperation Minister JPS Rathore, Minister of State for Backward Classes Welfare Narendra Kashyap, Minister of State for AYUSH Independent Charge Dayashankar Mishra Dayalu, Minister of State for Parliamentary Affairs and Industrial Development Jaswant Saini and Minister of State for Minority Welfare Danish Azad Ansari are not members of any House. So, these seven ministers were declared by the BJP as the candidates of the Legislative Council.

In terms of the number of MLAs, the BJP will get nine seats and the Samajwadi Party four. The other two BJP candidates are Banwarilal Dohre and Mukesh Sharma. There are six seats yet to be nominated. By-elections will also be held on two seats of the Legislative Council. However, Wednesday is the last date for nominations for the 13 seats to be held on June 20. On the other hand, BJP has declared the names of Praveen Darekar, Prasad Lad, Ram Shinde, Shrikant Bhartiya and Uma Girish Khapre for the Legislative Council elections from Maharashtra. Hari Sahni and Anil Sharma have been made candidates in Bihar.

Back to top button