Mahana became the Speaker of the UP Assembly

Lucknow, Satish Mahana, a senior BJP leader and who won the election of MLA for eight times, has been elected speaker of the Uttar Pradesh Legislative Assembly. The main opposition Samajwadi Party decided not to field a candidate against him, following which Satish Mahana was declared elected president unopposed. In the Vidhan Sabha, Acting Speaker Ramapati Shastri announced the election of Satish Mahana unopposed on Tuesday.

Ramapati Shastri told the House on Tuesday – Only Satish Mahana’s nomination paper was eligible for the post of Speaker of the Assembly and if it is valid, I declare his election. Earlier, Governor Anandiben Patel had fixed March 29 as the date for the election of the Speaker. By 2 o’clock on Monday, March 28, the process of nomination for the post of Speaker was to be completed and Satish Mahana alone had filled the form.

Leader of the House and Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath had proposed Mahana’s name for the post of Speaker, which was supported by Suresh Khanna. Apart from this, Leader of Opposition Akhilesh Yadav also proposed Mahana’s name and Awadhesh Prasad of SP had supported it. Raghuraj Pratap Singh of Jansatta Dal Loktantrik and Aradhana Mishra of Congress also proposed and supported Mahana’s name.

Mahana has won the election of MLA eight times from two different seats in Kanpur district. He was elected a member of the Legislative Assembly for the first time in 1991 and after that he continued to win elections. Apart from the Minister of State for Urban Development in the Mayawati-led government of the BSP-BJP alliance, he has also been a minister in the governments led by Kalyan Singh, Ram Prakash Gupta and Rajnath Singh. He was the industrial development minister in the previous government of Yogi Adityanath.

Back to top button