Lionel Messi won the Ballon d’Or award for the record 7th time, competed with Robert Lewandowski


Argentina’s Lionel MessiArgentine star footballer Lionel Messi has once again won the Ballon d’Or award. Messi has won this award for the record seventh time. The 34-year-old Messi won the award, leaving behind Portugal’s star footballer Cristiano Ronaldo and Bayern Munich star Robert Lewandowski. Earlier, Messi won the Ballon d’Or award in the years 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2015 and 2019. No other player has won this award so many times.

After Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo has won the Ballon d’Or award for the most number of times. Ronaldo won this award in the years 2008, 2013, 2014, 2016, 2017. Apart from this, Johan Cruyff, Michael Platini, Marco Van Basten have won this award 3-3 times and French Beckenbauer, Ronaldo Nazario, Alfredo di Stefano, Kevin Keegan, Karl Heinz have won this award 2-2 times.

What is Ballon d’Or?
The Ballon d’Or Awards are given by the French football magazine Ballon d’Or. This award is given every year to the best performing player from the club and national team. It started in the year 1956, when this award was given to Stanley Mathews for the first time. Since then it is being given every year. Three years ago i.e. from 2018, women footballers were also given this award.

read this also-
Ind vs NZ: Team India missed the win against New Zealand, this happened after 15 years

Ind vs NZ: Did Team India delay in declaring the innings? Coach Dravid gave this answer



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
error: Content is protected !!