IPL: In the IPL, these captains left the captaincy in the middle of the season


IPL: Virat Kohli recently announced that he will step down as the captain of Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) after IPL 2021. Kohli made this announcement in the middle of the season. However, this entire season he remained in command of RCB. But there have been some captains in the history of IPL who surprised everyone by suddenly leaving the captaincy mid-season. This has happened thrice in the 14 years of IPL so far.

IPL 2013: The first name is of former Australia captain Ricky Ponting. Ponting has been one of the most successful captains in the world of cricket, but in 2013, under his captaincy, Mumbai Indians were not able to do anything special. In such a situation, he had to leave the mid-season captaincy. In place of Ponting, Rohit Sharma was made the new captain, who justified his selection and made the team champion.

IPL 2013: In the same season of IPL, the second veteran player left the captaincy in the middle tournament. These players were – Sri Lankan wicketkeeper Kumar Sangakkara.  Sangakkara was the captain of Sunrisers Hyderabad. When Sunrisers got one defeat after another under his captaincy, he was immediately removed from the captaincy. In place of Sangakkara, Sunrisers’ command was handed over to West Indies fast bowler Darren Sammy.

IPL 2018: The third and last name in the list is of former Indian player Gautam Gambhir. Gambhir made Kolkata Knight Riders IPL champion 2 times under his captaincy but he could not bring much success to Delhi Capitals. He was also a flop in batting while playing for Delhi Capitals. As a result, he was removed from the mid-season captaincy and the reins of the team were handed over to young player Shreyas Iyer.

T20 World Cup: Virat Kohli’s 10-year-old tweet viral after the loss to New Zealand, social media users targeting the captain

T20 World Cup: How will India reach the semi-finals? Not one but many reversals needed



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button