India won the Thomas Cup!

Bangkok. The Indian men’s badminton team has accomplished a feat which was considered impossible till date. For the first time in the 73-year history of the Thomas Cup, the Indian team reached the final and won the final for the first time. India defeated the very powerful team of Indonesia, who won this title 14 times. The final match was to be of five matches, in which India won three matches in a row. Lakshya Sen won the first singles match. After this, the doubles match was won by Satwik Sairaj Rankireddy and Chirag Shetty and then after winning a singles, Kidambi Srikanth won the Thomas Cup for India.

In this way the Indian team created a history on Sunday. Prime Minister Narendra Modi spoke to the players of the Indian team about this historic victory. The Sports Ministry and the Badminton Association announced a reward of Rs 1 crore each for the team that won the Thomas Cup. Till now, the Sports Ministry used to reward only on wins in Asian Games, Commonwealth and Olympics. For the first time he has announced a reward for winning any other tournament.

India performed brilliantly throughout the tournament. India’s journey till the final was excellent. The Indian team had lost only to Taiwan in the group stage match in the journey till the final. In the group stage match, India defeated Germany 5-0 and Canada 5-0. In the quarter-finals, India defeated five-time winner Malaysia, while in the semi-finals, the team of Denmark, who played the final stage 32 times, defeated the team. Denmark is the winning team of 2016.

Lakshya Sen defeated Anthony Sinisuka Ginting 8-21, 21-17, 21-16 in the first singles match in the final. After winning the singles, India also won the doubles match. The Indian pair of Chirag Shetty and Satwik Sairaj Rankireddy lost the first game but won the second and third games. After this, veteran singles player Kidambi Srikanth defeated higher-ranked Jonathan Christie 21-15, 23-21 in straight games. The match lasted 48 minutes. In this way, India made history by winning the match 3-0.

Back to top button