Haryana Zilla Parishad elections: BJP’s poor performance, AAP’s presence felt

Chandigarh. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has suffered a major setback in the Haryana Zilla Parishad elections. The state’s ruling party fielded its candidates on 100 seats but won only 22 seats, while the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) contested 100 seats and won 15 seats. The results of the election were announced on Sunday.

The Indian National Lok Dal got some benefit in this. The Jannayak Janata Party (JJP), an ally of the Congress and the BJP, did not contest the election on its party’s symbol. Political experts believe that ahead of the next assembly elections to be held in 2024, these election results are going to warn the ruling BJP.

However, the BJP claimed that over 150 BJP-backed candidates also won in other districts of the state in the elections. The BJP’s poor performance in the Zilla Parishad elections comes at a time when it had won the by-election in the Adampur assembly seat in Hisar district just a few days back.

BJP’s Bhavya Bishnoi, grandson of former Haryana chief minister Bhajan Lal, won the Adampur bypoll earlier this month by a margin of over 15,000 votes. The Zilla Parishad election results in Panchkula came as a major setback for the BJP. Its candidates have faced defeat in all the 10 seats here. The party has also suffered a setback in Sirsa.

Here none of its candidates could register victory. BJP suffered a lot in Ambala. Suman Saini, wife of the party’s MP from Kurukshetra, Nayab Singh Saini, lost the election from Ward No. 4 of Ambala Zilla Parishad. It is also the home district of state Home Minister Anil Vij. In this district, the party could win only two out of total 15 Zilla Parishad seats.

In Gurugram, the BJP could win only four of the 10 Zilla Parishad seats. However, in Yamunanagar, Nuh and Kurukshetra, the ruling party won six, seven and three seats respectively. Haryana BJP spokesperson Sanjay Sharma said that the party has performed very well in the Zilla Parishad elections.

He claimed that 151 BJP-backed candidates won in 15 districts. Sharma said that apart from this, most of the 126 independent candidates who won the elections are supporting the BJP. He said that therefore out of total 411 members of 22 Zilla Parishads, BJP has the support of around 300 winning candidates.

The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has surprised everyone in the Zilla Parishad elections by winning 15 out of over 100 seats it contested on its symbol. It did well in Sirsa by winning six seats. Apart from this, he won three seats in Ambala and two seats in Jind.

AAP’s national convenor and Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal congratulated his party’s candidates for winning the Zilla Parishad elections and asked them to work for the people with full dedication. Political experts say that AAP’s victory in many seats in Zilla Parishad elections is going to boost its enthusiasm.

AAP is eyeing a good performance in the 2024 Haryana assembly elections. AAP MP and party’s Haryana in-charge Sushil Gupta said that it has become clear from the election results that the coming time in the state belongs to the Aam Aadmi Party. The Indian National Lok Dal (INLD) also managed to make some gains in the Zilla Parishad elections as it won 10 seats in Sirsa.

Karan Chautala, son of INLD leader and Ellenabad MLA Abhay Chautala, won from Ward No. 6 of Zilla Parishad in Sirsa by over 600 votes. An INLD leader said that the party won a total of 14 seats in the Zilla Parishad elections out of 72 it contested on the party’s symbol.

Independent candidates won most of the seats in the district council elections in several districts including Jhajjar, Hisar, Rewari and Rohtak. Elections to 143 Panchayat Samitis and 22 Zilla Parishads were held in three phases. There are 22 Zilla Parishads in Haryana, consisting of 411 members. These members will elect 22 Zilla Parishad chiefs. There are 143 panchayat samitis in the state, with 3,081 members who elect their presidents.

Back to top button
error: Content is protected !!