Azamgarh and Rampur are not SP strongholds

After the Samajwadi Party’s defeat in two Lok Sabha seats of Uttar Pradesh- Azamgarh and Rampur, it is being propagated in television channels and also in newspapers that the Samajwadi Party’s stronghold has been broken. But actually it is not so. These two seats are not the bastions of the Samajwadi Party. It cannot be compared with the loss of Rahul Gandhi in Amethi nor can it be compared with the loss of BJP in Gorakhpur seat. The Gorakhpur seat was a stronghold of the BJP, from where Yogi Adityanath had won five consecutive terms and the Samajwadi Party candidate defeated the BJP in the by-election in the seat vacated by his resignation.

SP has been winning and losing in both Azamgarh and Rampur seats. In 2019 and 2014, the SP had won continuously, but before that, Ramakant Yadav of BJP won in 2009 and BSP came second. The Samajwadi Party candidate came third with just 17 per cent votes. If we talk about the last 10 Lok Sabha elections, the SP has won only four times. BJP has won twice and BSP has won this seat twice. Once Congress and once Janata Dal has won.

In Rampur seat, the record of Samajwadi Party is even worse. In the last general election i.e. in 2019, Azam Khan of SP won this seat. But before that in 2014, Nepal Singh of BJP had won from this seat. Including the by-elections this time, the BJP has won twice and the SP once in three times. If we look at the last 10 Lok Sabha elections, the SP has won only thrice. Jaya Prada won in 2004 and 2009 and Azam Khan won in 2019. Out of the last 10 elections, BJP has won four times and Congress has won this seat thrice. So, these two seats cannot be called SP’s stronghold.

Back to top button