12 players including Neeraj Chopra, Sunil Chhetri honored with Khel Ratna, 35 athletes received Arjuna Award


Sports Awards 2021: Olympic gold medalist Neeraj Chopra, Paralympic gold medalist Sumit Antil and female cricketer Mithali Raj were on Saturday honored with the Major Dhyanchand Khel Ratna award, the country’s highest sporting honour, at Rashtrapati Bhavan. In this event, 35 athletes were awarded the Arjuna Award. Chopra, who won the gold medal in the Olympics and the Paralympic hero, was given the Khel Ratna award in the presence of President Ram Nath Kovind, several ministers and dignitaries. A large number of names were named for the awards this year, which were decided by a selection committee headed by (retd) Justice Mukundakam Sharma earlier this month.

These 12 players got Khel Ratna Award
Neeraj Chopra (Athletics), Ravi Dahiya (Wrestling), Lovlina Borgohain (Boxing), PR Sreejesh (Hockey), Avani Lekhara (Para-shooting), Antil (Para-Athletics), Pramod Bhagat (Para-Badminton), Krishna Nagar ( Para-Badminton), Manish Narwal (Para-shooting), Mithali Raj (Cricket), Sunil Chhetri (Football) and Manpreet Singh (Hockey). Tokyo 2020 Paralympic gold medalist Krishna Nagar did not attend the award ceremony as there were speculations that her mother passed away on Friday. That’s why he could not reach this function.

In this ceremony, all the members of the men’s hockey team, which won India a historic bronze medal in the Tokyo 2020 Olympics after 41 years, were awarded the Arjuna Award. Sreejesh and Manpreet did not get this award this year as both these players have already received it.

These players got Arjuna Award
Arpinder Singh, Simranjit Kaur, Shikhar Dhawan, Bhavani Devi, Monica Devi, Vandana Kataria, Sandeep Narwal, Himani Uttam Parab, Abhishek Verma, Ankita Raina, Deepak Punia, Dilpreet Singh, Harman Preet Singh, Rupinder Pal Singh are among the athletes who received the Arjuna Award. , Surendra Kumar, Amit Rohidas, Birender Lakra, Sumit, Neelkant Sharma, Hardik Singh, Vivek Sagar Prasad, Gurjant Singh, Mandeep Singh, Shamsher Singh, Lalit Kumar Upadhyay, Varun Kumar, Simranjit Singh, Yogesh Kathunia, Nishad Kumar, Praveen Kumar, Suhas Yatiraj, Singhraj Adhana, Bhavna Patel, Harvinder Singh and Sharad Kumar are included.

Dronacharya Award for Life Time Category was also presented on the occasion. It was given to the coaches TP Ousef (Athletics), Sarkar Talwar (Cricket), Sarpal Singh (Hockey), Ashan Kumar (Kabaddi) and Tapan Kumar Panigrahi (Swimming). In the Dronacharya regular category, Radhakrishnan Nair P (athletics), Sandhya Gurung (boxing), Pritam Siwach (hockey), Jai Prakash Nautiyal (para-shooting) and Subramaniam Raman (table tennis) were awarded.

The Dhyan Chand Award for Lifetime Achievement was given to Athlete Lekha KC, Chess Grandmaster Abhijit Kunte, Davinder Singh Garcha (Hockey), Vikas Kumar (Kabaddi) and Sajjan Singh (Wrestling). Panjab University (Chandigarh) received the Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (MAMA) Trophy for 2021.

Read also:

T20 World Cup Final: Tomorrow there will be a title battle between New Zealand and Australia, know when and where to watch live streaming and telecast

Road to Final: Know how New Zealand’s journey has been so far in the 2021 T20 World Cup, which teams have been beaten to dust



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button